RSS

2012 Is Here! Everyone Look Busy!

04 Jan

2012 arrived on midnight, Sunday morning. Many of us slapped the newborn year on the rear with a toast, a kiss and list of expectations for ourselves with one goal: be better than you were in 2011. And now that the celebrations are over and we’re all fairly sober, that long list of resolutions is kinda making us wish we could put that whole “be better” thing off until 2013.

Which is why I offer you a different approach this year. One that does involve doing something, but nothing extra or too extreme to ultimately set you up for failure. The approach: identify the things that you loved doing in 2011 and resolve to keep doing them in 2012.

Take me for instance. I entered 2012 jobless, a few pounds overweight and single – the perfect candidate for unrealistic expectations. For a second, I thought about resolving to devote every waking minute/hour/day to finding a job, meeting a soulmate and working very hard to bring my inner six-pack out. And, then I realized how utterly stupid and unrealistic that would be.

So, I asked myself, “What did you like about yourself in 2011?” “What did you do to get there?” and “Is it something you could keep doing in the new year?” And wouldn’t you know it? I had a list of resolutions, I could actually see myself doing. Imagine that.

While I may be unemployed now, I am by no means unemployable. I had a job in 2011. I was pretty good at that job. The skills that made me successful then, will ultimately make me successful now. So, I plan to keep those up. There’s also a strong possibility that I may learn some new stuff. But if by some unexplained, freak coincidence my brain becomes incapable of processing new information and executing new tasks, I’ll have something to fall back on.

While I’m no supermodel, I did manage to lose weight and keep it off with sustained diet and exercise. For 2012, I plan to keep doing just that. If I lose more, than that’s just icing on the… Damn. Now, I’m hungry.

Finally, I was single for the entire year of 2011. There were days when I felt lonely, but many more days where I kinda liked being alone. During those days, I actually got to know me better. And, so instead of going on a mad dash search for someone, I’m going to keep enjoying the single life, and let someone find me when we’re both good and ready.

With those things resolved, I wish everyone a very Happy New Year!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “2012 Is Here! Everyone Look Busy!

  1. Michael Rogers

    January 8, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Best New Year’s article I’ve read by a long shot. I resolve to take a page from your book.

     
    • cwriter79

      January 9, 2012 at 1:25 pm

      Thanks Mike! That’s very sweet of you to say.

       

Leave a Reply

 
