RSS

My First Advertising Perk.

18 Feb

So, I’ve heard about creatives in the ad game getting certain perks from the clients that they work for. These perks range from a free sample of the product you’re advertising to free trips to exotic locales (mostly to shoot a commerical or something).

Well, I think I may have gotten my first perk, and a pretty cool one at that. My current assignment involves a poster/ad campaign for the Center of Puppetry Arts. After bouncing around some initial ideas, my team and I decide to experience the Center as inspiration for “the big idea.” The ticket prices are pretty reasonable for someone who has a full-time job and a stable income. Since none of that applies to us at the moment, we were pretty apprehensive.

Enter Emma who not only works for the Circus, but works for the Center as well. We went to her, told her what we wanted to do and voila! Can you say free tickets to two shows, the puppet museum, a puppet-making workshop and a backstage tour? I knew you could! After spending an entire day there, I have say this place is pretty amazing. Never had I imagined the world of puppetry to be so extensive and so international. Both of the shows were awesome (even the family friendly one with the screaming kids) and the museum was very informative if not a little spooky. (You may not want to hang out too long in the room I’ve dubbed the puppet closet. It’s the stuff of nightmares.) If you’re in Atlanta, I recommend that you should definitely check it out.

Well, I’m off to come up with cool ideas or “ideate.” Feel free to enjoy my interpretation of Duke Ellington’s cat.

021708-003.jpg

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “My First Advertising Perk.

  1. Chrissy Deem

    February 25, 2008 at 1:10 am

    Yikes! More cut paper.

     
  2. Jennifer Yarter

    February 25, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Hey T –

    I started a blog to, kind of for the same reason as you, to enhance my career. Its focusing on Media Research, so its kind of related to yours, in a roundabout fashion. Check it out: http://researchgeeks.blogspot.com/

    I’m also trying to advertise it to get some readers, so if you like what you see, link to it! I’ll do the same for you on mine.

    ~ Jen

     

Leave a Reply

 
