RSS

Who Wants To Be A GA Resident?

08 Jan

So, I’m on my way to class this morning and I get pulled over by Gwinnett’s finest. It struck me as odd as I had just pulled out of the gas station and hadn’t had enough time to actually start speeding. The fact the cop was on a motorcycle made it worse. For some reason, they piss me off more than a cop in a car. I don’t really know why. Maybe it’s because they can be sneakier, hiding more effectively and because a cop riding a motorcycle always seems to be a bit more prickish than a cop in a car.

I pull over and immediately go for my license and registration. Having been a victim of DWB (driving while black), I’ve learned to keep my encounters with law enforcement short and sweet. Unfortunately, I had the pleasure of being pulled over by a talker. I got a lecture about keeping my car maintained, because I happened to be driving with no brake lights. Well, that was a surprise to me, because I’d never bothered to check. The funny thing is I actual have a maintenance appointment tomorrow, which I politely informed the officer of to cut the lecture short. Now mind you, I was on my way to a 9:30 class. This kind sir pulls me over at at 8:55 and I was at least 20 minutes away from school.

After seeing my license, he asks me very pointedly what I am doing in GA. I, like a dummy, blurt out the fact that I live here and that I’ve been living here for over a year. Bad mistake. Undoubtedly, I was supposed to get my tag and registration switched over after living here for 30 days. Well, that costs money that I don’t have so I was just praying that no one would notice. After another lecture on becoming a GA resident, the cop finally strolls back to his motorcycle to commence writing tickets. Notice the plural. I got two separate tickets: one for the license and one for the registration. He was going to give me one for the brake lights, but I guess he didn’t want to overdo it, so I just got a warning.

So, when I finally pulled out of the Citgo gas station. It was 9:15am. Let’s just say, I was damn lucky there were no other cops on the road, because the speeding I did to get to my class on time was not pretty. What’s cool about this whole situation is that I really didn’t have to try to hard to look at the positives (see New Year’s Resolution #1).

1. I was enlightened about a problem that had the potential to cause a serious accident. If you live in Atlanta, you know that the one thing you wear out more than anything is your brakes. Having no brake lights guarantees that the A-hole who just crossed three lanes of traffic in one swipe, drinking a latté, and gabbing on the phone is going to plow into you if you happen to stop short for the skittish, A-hole in the minivan up front.

2. I did manage to get to my class on time.

3. I may have way to wiggle out of paying the tickets. My mom suggested that I go down to the courthouse and explain to them that I am in school and that my permanent residence is still technically in Florida. She thinks that those two reasons alone is enough to get the tickets scrubbed. If that doesn’t work, I’ll just become a GA resident and then go to court. Maybe the judge will have mercy on me; this being my first offense and all.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Who Wants To Be A GA Resident?

  1. TracieMae

    January 8, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    FIRST offense? You’ve never gotten a ticket before?? Or just in GA?

     
  2. cwriter79

    January 8, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Oh, I’ve gotten a ticket before!

     
  3. miki

    January 12, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    wowoow, great job on the positives. i was trying to figure out how you were going to do it!! you are awesome!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
