RSS

The Topic of The Day is Dance

19 Dec

So, as you know, my friend Tracie and I have gotten hooked on Dance 411. It just feels so great to be dancing again! It’s truly one of the thing that makes me most happy in life. Sometimes it can be really frustrating and really hurt a lot ( I mean, a lot!), but even then it’s pretty exciting.

Lately, we’ve been taking a lot of hip-hop classes. Hip-hop is one of those dance forms that I’m not sure I fully get. I’ve definitely never taking a class until now, but I can’t shake the feeling that I’m one of the most uncoordinated people when it comes to this specific genre. It’s such an amalgamation of smooth/flow and quick/sharp movements that definitely takes awhile to master or to even be slightly good at. And then, as if that wasn’t complicated enough, you have to bring a little bit of your own personal groove to it or as the young kids like to call it, “swagger.”

Now, I have lots of things, swagger unfortunately isn’t one of them. When I’m told to “freestyle” or put a little “swagger” into my steps, I get this weird question mark expression on my face, because truth be told I don’t know how it’s done. And, I know it’s all about me and my unique expression, but when it comes down to it, I’m an introvert at heart that likes to (more than anything) look like everyone else. Blend in and disappear is my secret motto. So, swagger, I hope one day we’ll find each other, but if we don’t, please believe it’s not you.

Now for something totally random. I wrote a poem about dancing in a club with someone I was really digging on. It got rave reviews in a poety class I took awhile back. Let me know what you think.

It Must Be The Music

Maybe it’s the music that’s got me

dancing this close to you

grinding your ass on me

thrusting my pelvis into you

riding my leg, me

stroking your dreds, you

clutching my waist, rubbing me

grabbing your belt, pulling you

close to my ear, whispering to me

breathing heavily and wanting you

leaving tomorrow and me

wishing I had this song in my playlist.–

This moment has been sponsored by Sunday Scribblings.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The Topic of The Day is Dance

  1. The Alchemist

    December 20, 2007 at 12:51 pm

    Yes, I did like your poem. I also liked your story because like you I am an introvert and do not possess the ability to swagger like I’m the man besides Hip Hop is a dance form that I could never master…Too old. I do enjoy watching my daughter dancing though, it’s very expessive and energetic.

     
  2. Tumblewords

    December 20, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    Enjoyed both your prose and your poetry! I’m an introvert/extrovert. I never know which side will emerge but I’m pretty sure I’d not be an extroverted hip-hopper!

     
  3. cwriter79

    December 21, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Thanks for the kudos Alchemist and Tumblewords. Who knows maybe we’ll all be the best hip-hop dancers yet!

     
  4. Tracie

    December 28, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    How was that ballet for adults class you watched? Did it make you wanna try it? All I know is Salsa is a must now!! When we get our new school schedules, we are going to have to sit down and plan out which classes we want to go to and which ones we can actually attend. Dance on brotha!! And…I miss Neo.

     
  5. lizzyfirt

    January 7, 2008 at 9:50 am

    hello, i’m lizzy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
