RSS

Bolts of Silk

23 Oct

So, Bolts of Silk is pretty hit or miss when it comes to good poetry being posted, but I go periodically hoping to find a gem and today I did. I just love the way Jesus is defined here as a being burdened and weighed down by his responsibility.

Originally, I had posted the entire poem on this post to spare my readers the pain of clicking a link. Unfortunately, I just got a patronizing note from the owner of Bolts of Silk explaining the finer points of copyrighting. Newsflash. I’m not two years old, thank you very much and I will be deleting Bolts from my blogroll.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Bolts of Silk

  1. Crafty Green Poet

    October 23, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Glad you liked this poem but remember copyright means that you shouldn’t be publishing poems without the author’s specific agreement. Michael Lee Johnson can be contacted via his links on Bolts of Silk. I’m sure he’d be delighted that you’ve posted his poem, but it would be polite to ask. (Maybe you already have, in which case great! There have been a few copyright issues recently on blogs I know though so I’m extra aware of the issue at the moment).

     
  2. cwriter79

    October 23, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Yeah, I liked the poem, but I hated your patronizing comment. I’ve taken the advice and will choose not to visit you site again.

     
  3. Craftygreenpoet

    October 24, 2007 at 3:31 am

    I will return the favour then! Copyright is a serious issue and you shouldn’t abuse it. Sorry I offended you by telling you that.

     
  4. Michael Lee Johnson

    October 24, 2007 at 10:51 am

    I am the author of “Jesus Walks”, Michael Lee Johnson, which can be found at: http://boltsofsilk.blogspot.com/. I am very honored by the editors kind comments….”but I go periodically hoping to find a gem and today I did. I just love the way Jesus is defined here as a being burdened and weighed down by his responsibility”.

    However, it would have been the right thing to have requested permission. I know the editor of Bolt’s of Silk, personally, she is one of the kindest human being I have ever met as online relationships go. I’m flattered by the comments about my poem, and thank you; but, do understand randomly taking items from other’s websites is not really the way to go about things. We need to make friend more than create enemies.

    Respectfully,
    Michael Lee Johnson,
    Author of:
    The Lost American: From Exile to Freedom
    http://www.iuniverse.com/bookstore/book_detail.asp?isbn=0-595-46091-7

    Email: poetryman@walla.com
    Or: promomanusa@gmail.com

     
  5. cwriter79

    October 24, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Michael, I think your poem was awesome and I hope you continue to write and publish them in whatever forum you see fit. Please understand that I never intended to take credit for writing your poem. In fact, I made it clear that it was your poem and that I was just someone who had stumbled across it. I was only sharing a “gem” that I had found on the web with my readers. That is all.

    I am still unsure as to where the line was crossed here, but trust me, it won’t happen again.

     
  6. cwriter79

    October 24, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Crafty Green Poet,

    I would be honored if you never visited my blog again.

     
  7. Ceridwen

    October 25, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    Hi Michael, just chiming in because the lines aren’t clear for many people, but I have been talking with publishers, folks at the American Poetry Foundation and others, and here’s the skinny: Online you can’t simply take a piece in its entirety and put it on your own blog without having gotten permission. You have to get permission from the author if the work is not published and from the publisher if the work has been published.

    I know it’s a confusing issue for a lot of people, but simply crediting the source is not enough and is still a copyright infringement. I had to do a lot of research on this myself because I used to run a large poetry group, and my partner (whose father was a lawyer) and I didn’t want to accidentally misinterpret the law in any way.

    I know you didn’t mean to do anything but share work, which is great. But asking for permission will help you avoid infringement and possible fines as well. Just trying to be helpful and let you know what I have learned along the way.

     
  8. Michael Lee Johnson

    October 25, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Cwriter79. I appreciate your comments regarding my work, thank you. This is just unfortunate.
    Michael Lee Johnson

     
  9. Ceridwen

    October 25, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Oh, my mistake. I meant to address the author of this blog, not Michael. (Sorry, Michael!)

     

Leave a Reply

 
