RSS

It Hurts So Good.

21 Oct

So, my friend Tracie and I decided to take a beginning hip/hop dance class at place call Dance 411 today. Because both of us have been athletically inclined in our pasts, (Tracie was a gymnast and a cheerleader and I used to dance semi-professionally) we thought that the beginning class, while not a total piece of cake, would be at least easy enough for us to fake like we knew what we were doing.

Well, how about the class turned out to be a little more advanced than we bargained for. Let me just say, I haven’t tried to dance like that in a long time, and am I ever paying for it! One of the highlights of the routine was this kamikaze knee slide thing on the floor, that you then pulled yourself up from utilizing only a body roll. Yeah! I decided to wear shorts, so there was no padding between my skin and the wood floor. Bad idea. I now have two bruises on each side of my left knee. On top of that, there were so many sudden moves, jerks and “hit” poses in this routine that my entire body aches from the muscle strain. I didn’t even know that my hip socket could hurt, but guess what? It can!

Tracie had me rolling when she joked that maybe we needed to ask for the “elderly” beginner course. Judging by the way we were moving (during an after) it seemed like we were the oldest people in the class. Although, it was tough and I’m now moving around like a turtle on dopamine, I had a really good time and I want to do it again! I’m such a glutton for punishment.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “It Hurts So Good.

  1. Miki Tesh

    October 23, 2007 at 5:40 am

    turtle on dopamine, hahaha… wow, you are so lucky! ive been wanting to do hiphop for a while, but w/o the rolling on the floor. I am toooo old. yeah for you!! i saw ‘So you think you can dance’ dancers on fri w/brian. i loved seeing it and i thought of you! they are just the same as on tv. although, i think its better on tv bc you can actually see them better. anyhoo, keep up the dancing. I wish i had 😉

     
  2. Chrissy Deem

    October 23, 2007 at 11:46 am

    You should video tape it and post it on your blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
