RSS

Heading Home

20 Sep

So, I’m heading home to St. Petersburg, Florida tomorrow. I’m pretty excited to see my friends and family again, but most of all, I’m excited to see the water!.

All my life, I’ve taken the beaches, the Gulf, and Tampa Bay for granted. I’ve always thought that the people who “ooohhed” and “ahhhed” over me being from Florida were idiots. “But, you get to go to the beach whenever you want?” they’d say. Big, freaking deal! Before I left for the “A”, I couldn’t remember the last time that I actually went to the beach. The thought of massive crowds, the blistering sun, and the pain of getting sand off every inch of my body, would be enough to keep me inside, flipping through the TV channels offered by Bright House.

But, things have changed. I miss it like I’ve never missed it before. I actually relish looking out the window at the blue-green swash of color, shimmering beneath the sun as my plane touches down. The last time, I actually stuck my head out the window of my mom’s car and inhaled the salty air deep into my lungs as we rode across the Howard Franklin. I was home and it felt good.

So, to all my readers out there who are away from “home” trying to establish “home” in another place, tell me what you truly miss now about that place you left. Is it something you thought you’d never miss like me? of has it always been there, a solitary yearning only satiated by periodic visits?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Heading Home

  1. T. Budnik

    September 20, 2007 at 8:51 am

    MOUNTAINS! Even when I went to college in Fairbanks (only 300 miles north of my hometown of Palmer) I missed the mountains and there were more mountains there than here.

    -T.

     
  2. Jennifer Newsome Yarter

    September 21, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    You’re coming back!!?!? Will you have time to visit? Email me! jyarter at tampabay dot rr dot com

     
  3. Tracie

    September 21, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    This may sound silly, but I miss having my mid-western Chicago accent. Having lived in the south for, what, 15 years now (GEEZ). My CHI-talk is just gone, only to return when I either talk to somebody from the CHI or when I step off the plane at Midway, grab something to eat, and the lady asks what kind of “pop” I want. Aaaaahhhhh, home sweet home.

    Not to mention the men are FYYYYNNNNEEEEE! Okay!!!

     
  4. cwriter79

    September 24, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    Those are all really great! T., I love the mountains as well now that I’ve actually seen them. And, Tracie, I love accents and fine men, so yeah! Jen, I am coming home, but only for a hot second. If we don’t get together this time, let’s definitely plan for November.

     

Leave a Reply

 
