RSS

The Topic of the Day is “Collector Personality”

16 Sep

Okay, so I am trying to follow the rule to always post something within three days of the your last post. I was told by a wise blogger, that if you don’t, people stop reading. Can I tell you how extremely hard that is, especially when technology is extremely displeased with you at the moment?

That’s right folks! I must of angered the techno Gods during Critique week, because I swear they have smote (smitted?) my laptop. It’s now at a repair shop and I am sitting at a terminal in FedEx Kinkos, who I am not very happy with, but that’s another story.

Anyhoo, the topic today is pretty interesting. I kinda have a collector’s personality, but i’m not very commited to it. It just kinda happens. For those of you who know me, I have one collection that I prize over them all and that’s my collection of visors. I don’t really know when this one started, because I’ve never been a hat wearer. I just remember one day putting on a visor, looking in a mirror and saying, “Damn, I look pretty good!”

Since that day, I have gathered a collection of 20 (maybe a little bit more) visors. They come in all shapes, sizes and colors and are from all over the world literally. Each one has a specific story, too. Some are really ratty from continous wear and tear; others are as pristine as the day I bought them. There’s no rhyme or reason to why I wear some and others I don’t. It mostly has to do with whether I have something that matches the visor or not.

I’d almost forgotten how much a part of my personality these “half hats” had become, when my friend Jamen remarked that he didn’t realize I had hair. He’s always seen me with a visor on pretty much and when I didn’t rock one, he was very surprised. Come to think of it, it’s been a while since I actually donned one. Maybe I’m outgrowing the “wearing” phase, even though the next vaca I take, I’m definitely purchasing another one to add to my collection.

So, I’m interested to know of other collections out there. If you got you’ve got a pretty good one  going let me know about it.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Topic of the Day is “Collector Personality”

  1. Tumblewords

    September 16, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Dang. I’d forgotten about my collection of visors. A once-upon-a-time golfer, I acquired a variety and fed that bunch by adding one from places I visited. I’ll be looking them up. Darn. I know they’re here somewhere. Aren’t they?

     
  2. Sarala

    September 16, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever even worn a visor. I’m more a baseball cap kind of gal. I enjoyed reading about your collection.
    Happy Sunday.

     
  3. cwriter79

    September 17, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Thanks Sarala and Tumblewords, good luck finding your collection. Mine lines the top shelf of my closet.

     
  4. Jennifer Newsome Yarter

    September 18, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    I have a collection of nearly 100 My Little Ponys from my childhood. In my recent times, I’ve started collecting interesting looking wine bottles. Its sad, but I buy wine more for what the bottle looks like than what it tastes like! I drink all the wine, rinse out the bottle and line the tops of my kitchen cabinets with cool wine bottles.

     
  5. xztheericzx

    November 11, 2007 at 11:02 am

    i’m eric. joining a couple boards and looking
    forward to participating. hehe unless i get
    too distracted!

    eric

     
  6. aABeckerkoo

    December 22, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Hello

    Just stopping in to say hi to y’all as a new member.

    Aaron

     
  7. MGlass

    December 28, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    How about this one. I collect TV stations. I don’t own them, I just try to pick up as many over the air TV stations as I can. Certain atmospheric conditions allow TV stations to be received from hundreds and even thousands of miles away. I keep a precise log of all of my stations, and also try to document my “collection” with photographs of the station’s logo. I have received 287 so far. This hobbey is called TV DX (distant). Info is at: http://www.wtfda.org/index.php

     
  8. cwriter79

    January 4, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    MGlass, that is a pretty unique and cool collection. I’ve never heard of collecting radio stations. Pretty cool.

     

Leave a Reply

 
