RSS

Slow Go On The Logos

26 Jul

PC Rant #1: Belfi’s In-Design Class/Project

I actually like taking this class mainly because I’m  learning cool stuff like the Adobe Design Suite and simple things like Apple shortcut keys and file and email organization that will make my life easier.

The final deliverables for the class are a capital campaign brochure and a re-designed, or in some cases, a designed logo for a non-profit organization. I’ve chosen to go with a non-profit that I used for an ads concepting class last quarter. It’s call Someone Cares of Atlanta, an HIV/AIDS outreach/support/education organization that serves the African American and Latino MSM population of Atlanta.

Status:

So far, so good. For a writer with a miniscule drop of design experience, I am proud to say that I’m holding my own.  The first round of logo roughs has been submitted and the response has been favorable. There’s even a “hero” emerging. Somewhere Sylvia is smiling.

Problem:

I’ve been tasked to come up with 10 new ideas for a logo and unfortunately I was stretching to meet the first  50. I’m afraid I’ve run out of ideas or symbols that I can draw from to explain what this organization is and does. Here’s what I’ve used thus far:

ribbon, abstract people connected, the initials of the organization, a hand, abstract people helping each other, supporting each other, faces, realistic man/men, and open doors.

Solicitation: 

Can anyone suggest any other stylistic elements or ideas I can manipulate to explain outreach, education, support, and/or HIV/AIDS? 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Slow Go On The Logos

  1. Chrissy Deem

    July 27, 2007 at 5:44 am

    Are you asking writers this question?

     
  2. Tracie

    July 27, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    How bout a open book for education, or maybe a ear (for the whole listening aspect). My bra is very supportive, so maybe you could throw that in somewhere. I’m sure MSM’s wear bras right? YEAH YA DOOOO!!!!! (secretly)

     
  3. jaimejo19

    July 28, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    i break out in hives when i hear the word logo. good luck!

     
  4. Ken

    July 30, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    What makes Someone Care’s special? It’s USP (c) Mimi.

     
  5. Chrissy Deem

    July 31, 2007 at 6:37 am

    I like Tracie’s bra idea, but make it abstract and don’t forget the AOF.

     
  6. andrearf

    August 2, 2007 at 8:12 am

    belfi loves writers, you’re ok anyway you go, you guys are putting the designers to shame in that class 🙂 i like tracie’s idea, but i’m not sure a bra would do anything for belfi..hmm..

     

Leave a Reply

 
